Position:Home > About us

Brief introduction

The State Key Laboratory of Environmental Chemistry and Ecotoxicology (SKLECE) was officially granted by the Ministry of Science and Technology of China in 2007, and it was recognized as one of the Excellent State Key Laboratories in the 2010 and in the 2015 evaluation. Major research fields of SKLECE include the analytical methods, environmental processes, toxicology and health impacts of persistent toxic substances (PTS). 
SKLECE now comprises of 18 research groups with 87 staff members. Among them are 1 academicians of the Chinese Academy of Sciences, 1 Chinese Academy of Engineering, 1 Member of the National Academy of Engineering, USA, 33 professors, 9 recipients of NSFC “Distinguished Young Scholars”, 11 recipients of CAS “One Hundred Talents Program”  and 8 recipients of NSFC “Excellent Young Scientists Fund”. In addition, there are approximately 170 postdoctoral fellows and graduate students.
During 2010-2016, SKLECE carried out 318 research projects supported by NSFC and MOST. Over 936 papers were published in SCI journals including 200 papers in Cell, Nature Nanotech., Nature Comm., PNAS, Chem. Rev., Chem. Soc. Rev., JACS, Angew. Chem. Int Ed, ACS Nano, EHP, ES&T, and Anal. Chem.. Some of the work won the National Natural Science Award and Chinese Academy of Sciences Outstanding Achievement Award. 
SKLECE researchers participate actively in international scientific activities. ES&T Asian Office is located in SKLECE, headed by Prof. G. Jiang, associate editor of ES&T. Prof. L. Guo, B. Zhao and J. Liu are respectively the associate editor of Environ. Sci: Process Impacts and NanoImpact, regional editor of Environ. Health Perspect. and editor of Chem. Speciat. Bioavail. Prof. M. Zheng serves as the chairman of Asia-Pacific POPs monitoring organizing committee. In 2004, SKLECE initiated “International Symposium on Persistent Toxic Substances” and has organized the symposium each year since. It has become an internationally recognized and well attended symposium on PTS research.
Chairman of Scientific Advisory Committee: Prof. Yiyu CHEN
Director: Prof. Guibin JIANG
Executive Director: Prof. Minghui ZHENG,
Vice Director: Prof. Chuanyong JING, Prof. Sijin LIU, Prof. Yawei WANG